AFT Kickstarts 2019’s Mile-Stacked Stretch Run in Sacramento

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (August 7, 2019) – American Flat Track will complete a hyper-intense week that jams three-quarters of a potential Grand Slam into a span of just six days. The final piece of this whirlwind week - the Law Tigers Sacramento Mile presented by Cycle Gear powered by Estenson Racing - roars into Cal Expo Fair in Sacramento, Calif., on Saturday, August 10.

While it represents the conclusion of a hectic week, this year’s running of the Legendary Sacramento Mile also serves as a slingshot aimed down the stretch for the 2019 AFT Twins presented by Vance & Hines championship fight. With two of the series’ trademark Miles rescheduled due to weather earlier this season, the opening half of the ‘19 season included just a single stop at a maximum speed battleground. As a result, this year’s fascinating title chase will play out with five epic Miles over the final seven races, starting this weekend in Sacramento.

Multi-time defending AFT Twins Champion Jared Mees (No. 1 Indian Motorcycle/Progressive Insurance FTR750) has found himself playing catch-up much of the year following a pair of dominant title runs in 2017 and 2018. However, he could be well positioned to pursue a third considering he’s racked up eight of his 11-career Mile victories since the start of the ‘17 season -- including last year’s Sacramento Mile as well as this year’s only opportunity to add to that tally, the Red Mile.

By contrast, chief title rival Briar Bauman (No. 14 Indian Motorcycle/Progressive Insurance FTR750) still needs his first-career Mile win to complete the Grand Slam.

Mees and Bauman won’t be alone in chasing victory. Harley-Davidson teammates Sammy Halbert (No. 69 Harley-Davidson Factory Flat Track Team XG750R Rev X) and Jarod Vanderkooi (No. 20 Harley-Davidson Factory Flat Track Team XG750R Rev X) have each flashed race-winning potential in 2019 and will do everything in their power to deliver the XG750R its first premier-class win and up Harley’s all-time Mile record to an astonishing 238 victories.

Meanwhile, in the Roof Systems AFT Singles presented by Russ Brown Motorcycle Attorneys class, AFT fans and insiders alike are anxiously awaiting the rematch following the riveting Red Mile showdown that pit Roof Systems AFT Singles newcomer Mikey Rush (No. 15 RMR Honda/Red Riders Rewards Honda CRF450R) up against its all-time winningest rider, Shayna Texter (No. 52 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing SX-F 450).

Rush came out on top in Kentucky, but Texter will have been counting the days for another shot to showcase her Mile chops since taking that checkered flag in second that night.

An increasingly stacked AFT Production Twins field will be back in action as well, headlined by title leader (and Shayna’s big brother) Cory Texter (No. 65 G&G Racing/Holeshot Powersports Yamaha MT-07).

The Legendary Law Tigers Sacramento Mile will be the centerpiece of a three-day celebration of the sport in Northern California. On Friday, August 9, the Lodi Motorcycle Club will host its annual “Night Before the Mile,” at Lodi Cycle Bowl’s Short Track. And on Sunday, August 11, the club will take over the big Mile track to host its official annual Amateur Mile event.

Tickets are on sale now for the Law Tigers Sacramento Mile presented by Cycle Gear powered by Estenson Racing at https://secure.interactiveticketing.com/1.23/ef3f8c/#/select. You save $10 per ticket by ordering reserved seats online as opposed to purchasing at the gate. Military and First Responders will be provided free General Admission Standing Room Only tickets at the Cal Expo Gate on the day of the event.

For fans watching remotely, FansChoice.tv will provide live coverage of the Sacramento Mile starting when the gates open at 5:00 p.m. ET/2:00 p.m. PT. Opening Ceremonies are slated to begin at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m PT. The AFT Production Twins Main Event is scheduled for 9:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. PT, followed by the rider autograph session at 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m PT. The remainder of the Main Event program will follow at 11:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. PT.

Catch the feature broadcast of the Sacramento Mile on NBCSN with flag-to-flag coverage of the Main Events, enhanced by exclusive features and cutting-edge aerial drone and onboard footage. The broadcast will debut on Sunday, August 25, at 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT and will re-air on Wednesday, August 28, at 4:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. PT.

For more information on American Flat Track visit www.americanflattrack.com.

To get the latest American Flat Track clothing and merchandise visit www.americanflattracker.com.

SERIES PARTNERS