Coolbeth Earns His Rightful Place in Hall of Fame

Already well represented in the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame, the Progressive American Flat Track community will be represented well when its newest addition to the historic annals of motorcycling officially joins its ranks.

It was announced last week that three-time Grand National Champion Kenny Coolbeth will be inducted into the Hall of Fame as a member of its Class of 2022.

Coolbeth’s staggering accomplishments alone effectively guaranteed him a place in the Hall. During the span of a quarter-century career, he racked up 37 premier-class victories (23 Half-Miles, ten Miles, and four Short Track) and finished in either first or second position on nearly 80 occasions.

Born on March 30, 1977, in New Milford, Connecticut, Coolbeth was named the sport’s Rookie of the Year in 1994. He would go on to fulfill that immense early promise by winning the championship three years running, reigning over the sport from ‘06-’08.

Kenny now sits sixth on the all-time wins list, trailing only the biggest of names: Scott Parker, Chris Carr, Jared Mees, Jay Springsteen, and Ricky Graham. The riders who directly trail him – Bubba Shobert, Kenny Roberts, and Bryan Smith – are of similar significance, underlining the strength of his credentials.

Soft-spoken in the paddock and a fierce competitor on the track, Coolbeth stands as a historic figure in Progressive AFT, bridging its storied past to its modern history. Kenny’s career serves as the sport’s connective tissue, as he battled with both the likes of Parker, Carr, Springsteen, and Graham, as well as more recent heroes such as Mees, Smith, and Briar Bauman.

Even after hanging up his helmet following the 2018 season in which he earned his 37th and final victory, Coolbeth has continued to play a critical role in the quest for Progressive AFT checkered flags.

He didn’t only lend his name to the Coolbeth-Nila Racing effort from 2019-2021, he served in a number of roles with the outfit, including team manager, mechanic, and even truck driver. With Sammy Halbert at the controls, the team finished third in the 2020 Mission SuperTwins presented by S&S Cycle championship and collected race victories in both 2020 and 2021.

Coolbeth currently serves as rider coach and raceday technician for Turner Racing Honda. Earlier this season, Parts Unlimited AFT Singles presented by KICKER star Morgen Mischler directly credited Kenny’s help in improving his starts as a key component in securing a pair of early-season wins.

Coolbeth will be officially inducted on October 28 during the 2022 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at the Violet Township Event Center in Pickerington, Ohio.

For more information on Progressive AFT visit

How to Watch:

FOX Sports and are the official homes for coverage of Progressive American Flat Track. For the 2022 season, all races will premiere in one-hour telecasts on FS1 during highly desirable weekend time slots. The complete schedule can be viewed at provides livestreaming coverage of every Progressive AFT round at