Estenson Racing Ready for Canterbury Park Return

Posted on behalf of Estenson Racing

Estenson Racing looks to end the season on a high note as American Flat Track racing returns to Canterbury Park after an eight-year absence for the Indian Motorcycle Minnesota Mile on Saturday, September 29.

Leading the charge in the AFT Twins class is Jake Johnson, who had a good showing at the venue back in 2010. The veteran looks forward to returning to Canterbury’s Mile track, which he hopes will be as racy as it was the last time around. Although Johnson has struggled in 2018 to find the right setup on the Miles this season – on two different motorcycle brands – he feels he and his crew have made progress with the Estenson Racing Indian Scout FTR750. That, in combination with his previous success at the venue and his late-season momentum, has the two-time Grand National Champion eager to keep that momentum rolling into Minnesota.

Fresh off his second MotoAmerica Supersport title, JD Beach joins Estenson Racing for the final two rounds of the season. Beach is eager for his return to flat track racing and looks forward to throwing his leg over the Estenson Racing Yamaha MT-07.

The road racer with flat track roots has already scored a pair of podiums in his last three outings in the AFT Twins championship, but Saturday will mark Beach’s first return to a Mile since Springfield 2013. So while Beach is a fierce competitor and always hungry for the win, he goes into the first of these two Miles without expectations.

Kolby Carlile is also looking forward to the Minnesota Mile. The 2017 AFT Singles champ’s two wins this season – at the Sacramento Mile and Kentucky’s Red Mile – have been on the big tracks, so the “Flying Tomato” will feels right at home here. Both he and his crew have put in the hours to get the Yamaha YZ450F dialed for the final stretch of the season. So Carlile heads to Canterbury Park with confidence and looking to cap off his AFT Singles career with a pair of “W’s”.

Jake Johnson – AFT Twins #5: 

“I’m looking forward to it. Last time we were there the track was really good. I actually led the race for a long time and ended up finishing second to Kenny Coolbeth, so I had a pretty good showing the last time we were there.

“It’s kind of hard to tell what the track’s going to be, though. It’s a cushion horse track, so it could kind of go any which way depending on their plan on prepping it and things like that. If it’s anything like the last time we were there I think it’s going to be good. It was pretty racy with multiple lines and some different options. It turned out to be a pretty racy track.

“The Miles really haven’t been very good for me this year. Springfield [II] was okay. We made some progress there. The past two months as a whole have been really good, for the most part finishing a little closer to where we should. I feel there’s no reason why we shouldn't be in the top five every week and fighting for podiums and wins. We’re kind of back on track for that. Hopefully we can keep that rolling.”

JD Beach – AFT Twins #95: 

“I’m beyond excited to get back on a Mile. It’s hard to kind of set a goal, though. I mean, of course, if I’m on a bike I want to go out and win. But with it being the first time I’ve ever ridden this bike, without having time to test, it is going to be exciting and hard all at the same time. I think the goal is to go out there and have fun and get some time on the bike. And maybe kind of use it as a test run for the last round, but I’m going to go out there and give it my all and try and be as far up in the pack as I can.”

JD Beach, getting after it earlier this year at Dixie Speedway. Check out that rear Dunlop's elevation.

Kolby Carlile – AFT Singles #1: 

“I really love Mile racing on my Estenson Racing Yamaha YZ450F. My team always provides a strong bike for me to ride, and that makes my job a little easier. We went to work these past few weeks, tearing down and rebuilding the bikes from the ground up to give us the best shot at winning. I’m looking forward to drafting around and gaining some more Mile experience, and see if I can win these last two Miles.”

The 'Flying Tomato' enjoying a victory earlier this year.

Advance tickets for the 2018 Indian Motorcycle Minnesota Mile at Canterbury Park can be purchased online starting at just $35, with indoor and outdoor reserved seating going for just $45. Military and first responders are just $20 (call 952.445.7224), and kids under 12 are free. There are also exclusive VIP Experiences available, including a Triple Crown Club Terrace/Buffet VIP ticket for $125 and special reserved Clubhouse seats for small groups. Day-of ticket pricing increases by $10, so be sure to purchase them now! All ticket options can be purchased here: http://www.canterburypark.com/events/ama-racing/

Live streaming of every session can be viewed on FansChoice.tv beginning at 3:00 pm ET (12:00 pm PT) with Qualifying rounds commencing at 3:45 pm ET (12:45 pm PT) and Semis scheduled for 6:00 pm ET (3:00 pm PT). The AFT Singles Main Event will kick off at 8:10 pm ET (5:10 pm PT) and AFT Twins at 8:50 pm ET (5:50 pm PT). All live streaming can be found at https://www.fanschoice.tv/watch-live/american-flat-track

For an in-depth Minnesota Mile experience with flag-to-flag coverage of both Main Events enhanced by drone and onboard footage, be sure to catch the NBC Sports feature telecast of the Indian Motorcycle Minnesota Mile when it premieres on NBCSN on Sunday, October 14 at 5:00 pm ET (2:00 pm PT). Be sure to check your local listings, or for the complete broadcast schedule for AFT on NBCSN, please visit http://www.americanflattrack.com/events-nbcsn

SERIES PARTNERS