Progressive AFT Completes California Swing with Inaugural Silver Dollar Short Track

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 14, 2024) – Progressive American Flat Track, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, will complete its run of five Short Tracks in its opening six races with this weekend’s inaugural Silver Dollar Short Track at Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, California, on Saturday, May 18.

While two weeks later than originally scheduled due to inclement weather on the original date, the visit to the historic venue is actually overdue by measure of decades rather than weeks. The track is fabled among West Coast auto racing superstars and finally has its opportunity to earn its place in the esteem of the world’s elite motorcycle dirt trackers starting this weekend.

There have been different winners in each of the four Mission AFT SuperTwins Short Track Main Events to date this season: points leader Dallas Daniels (No. 32 Estenson Racing Yamaha MT-07 DT), second-ranked Brandon Robinson (No. 44 Mission Roof Systems Indian FTR750), reigning Grand National Champion Jared Mees (No. 1 Rogers Racing/SDI Racing/Indian Motorcycle FTR750), and last weekend’s victor, Briar Bauman (No. 3 Rick Ware Racing/KTM/Parts Plus KTM 790 Duke).

Solid arguments can be made for all four heading into this weekend. But that level of parity combined with the novel nature of the Silver Dollar Short Track makes it difficult, if not impossible, to predict who is most likely to hold the upper hand.

Of course, the ‘24 season could continue on brand and deliver fans a fifth winner in as many STs. Brandon Price (No. 92 Memphis Shades/Corbin/OTBR Yamaha MT-07) and Sammy Halbert (No. 69 Dodge Bros. Racing/Castrol Harley-Davidson XR750) have both earned runners-up in the discipline this year, while Jarod Vanderkooi (No. 20 JMC Motorsports/Fairway Ford Ohio Indian FTR750), Davis Fisher (No. 67 Rackley Racing/Bob Lanphere’s BMC Racing Indian FTR750), and Bronson Bauman (No. 37 Fastrack Racing Mission Foods KTM 790 Duke) have all stood atop the box in recent seasons.

Historically, Short Tracks have a way of springing surprises. So perhaps one of a number of talented underdogs will step to the fore in Chico, a group of riders that includes the likes of Kolby Carlile (No. 36 G&G Racing/Yamaha Racing MT-07), Trevor Brunner (No. 21 Mission Foods/Zanotti Racing KTM 790 Duke), Max Whale (No. 18 Latus Motors Racing/Liqui Moly Harley-Davidson XG750R), and Dan Bromley (No. 62 Memphis Shades/Vinson/Al Lamb’s Dallas Honda Transalp).

Parts Unlimited AFT Singles presented by KICKER

By contrast, this year’s four ST wins in the Parts Unlimited AFT Singles presented by KICKER category have been split evenly by just two riders, reigning class champ Kody Kopp (No. 1 Rick Ware Racing/Parts Plus KTM 450 SX-F) and his most persistent challenger, Tom Drane (No. 59 Estenson Racing Yamaha YZ450F).

Outside of a last-lap incident in the opener that cost Australian Drane what could prove to be a vital haul of points, the two have been nearly perfectly matched, with each rider boasting two wins among four podium finishes this season.

Chase Saathoff (No. 88 JPG Motorsports Honda CRF450R), Dalton Gauthier (No. 79 D&D Racing/Certified KTM 450 SX-F), and Trent Lowe (No. 48 American Honda/Mission Foods CRF450R) haven’t been too far off that form. Saathoff boasts a pair of top threes including his maiden victory, former class champ Gauthier has reeled in two runners-up among three podiums, while Lowe has taken a pair of thirds.

Others to watch include Californians James Ott (No. 19 1st Impressions Race Team Husqvarna FC450), Travis Petton IV (No. 82 ECG Racing/A.M Ortega KTM 450 SX-F), Tarren Santero (No. 75 Vinson Construction, P&M Motorcycles Honda CRF450R), and Tyler Raggio (No. 55 Raggio Racing/Sluggo Racing KTM 450 SX-F), as well as up-and-comers Logan Eisenhard (No. 66 Hannum’s Harley-Davidson KTM 450 SX-F) and Evan Renshaw (No. 265 American Honda/Mission Foods CRF450R).

There will be plenty to keep spectators entertained off the track as well, including numerous vendors, plenty of food and beverage options, live music, activities for kids, and extensive motorcycle parking.

General Admission Grandstand tickets are just $30 (kids 12 and under free), while Reserved Grandstand tickets are $40 (all ages), Trackside Box tickets are $60 (all ages), and Pit Grandstand tickets offer premium viewing experiences for $70 (all ages).

New for 2024 is the Opening Ceremonies Trackside Fan Experience ($150 all ages). This ticket option provides reserved seating with Pit Pass access, a guided tour of, and photo opportunities at, the infield podium and start/finish line, infield viewing of Opening Ceremonies and the heat races, and a track talk and photo opportunity with 2016 Grand National Champion Bryan Smith.

Visit to reserve your seats today.

Gates will open for fans at 6:00 p.m. ET (3:00 p.m. PT) with Opening Ceremonies scheduled to begin at 10:00 p.m. ET (7:00 p.m. PT). You can catch the livestream of all the weekend’s racing activities on FloRacing. Motorsports fans can subscribe to FloRacing to enjoy over 1,000 live motorsports events in 2024. FloSports is available by visiting or by downloading the FloSports app on iOS, Android, Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire and Chromecast.

FOX Sports coverage of the Silver Dollar Short Track, featuring in-depth features and thrilling onboard cameras, will premiere on FS1 on Saturday, May 25, at 11:00 a.m. ET (8:00 a.m. PT).

For more information on Progressive AFT visit